A Rose Is Still A Rose by any other name…Let Love Rule

On January 19th, Martin Luther Kings Celebrated Birthday, I received a call from debt collector at approximately 7:04 pm wanting to discuss the U.S Department of Education (1-866-922-0095). I was not pleased to be having this conversation on the day of Martin Luther Kings Birthday primarily because I was called by a previous debt collector for the entire month of December everyday on the hour in reference to a student loan and the US Dept of Education, currently my check is being garnished and the women on the other end of the phone want to emphasize that particular point. Instead of trying to find an alternative solution to helping me repay the student loan, either US Department of Education or debt collectors would rather call me everyday until I have heart attack, commit suicide, or brain embolism, or aneurysm. Since 2005, I was forced to sleep in my car for 7 months, spent about a month in homeless shelter, and several weeks in drug rehabilitation and (no I am not drug addict) a dumb strawberry blonde but not a drug addict. I felt insulted to be called on Martin Luther King Day about student loan that compounds interest everyday. However; obtaining employment is and has not been my problem from congenial, finding and maintaining housing that would allow me to work and repay my debts has been and still remains the underline obstacle (issue). In my biography on my web site I state that I went to school on a 4 year scholarship that paid about $3000.00 a semester received a fee waiver for a summer semester, while my grandmother collected and paid by money order with help of relatives $500.00  for  the summer classes. I have always been grateful, thankful, believed in giving back to the community for one had it not been for J.D and Alice Butler I might not have matriculated as far because my father lost his job in Tallahassee, had a car repossed, lost his land from understanding upon relocating to Deerfield Beach Florida in 1984. I believe in serving the community as my grandmother did  at the age between forty and forty five when she started giving up her holidays with her family to work in soup kitchen to help the less fortunate or my father who was continual on call for members of the community when problems arose with their housing, employment; I don’t have a problem with servitude but I do have a problem with obsequiousness to further describe my pressing thoughts while re-reading a book by John P.Marquand the ideals I was brought up on might be explained best through this excerpt:

An Excerpt from The Late George Apley “It has always seemed to me that great establishments are senseless and egotistical and do not help ones’ name in the community. It is better to think one’s self as a steward who owes the community a definite debt;….My father once made a remark which I shall now repeat to you because it illustrates this attitude .One evening not very long before his death, when seated with him on Hillcrest piazza watching the gold setting sun on the leaves of our great elms, I happened to make some casual remark about servants, when my father stopped me by beating impatiently on the floor with his walking stick. “I do not like words” ’servants’ ” he said, “when used to  differentiate a certain class of persons from us. In a sense we are all servants. Placed here on earth to serve .Some of us, by the will and omniscience of the Divinity, have been given a greater task than others….It would be difficult to find a more accurate expression of the sentiment which has actuated so many individuals in our group. It may be true that George Apley did not live up entirely to these ideals—as indeed, who has?—but in a measure they were before him always. They explain much of his own simplicity in life, which to the last he took a definite, if perhaps an over-meticulous, pride. It was always his ideal, for example, that anyone less fortunate situated than him should feel at easy in his house and should not feel self- conscious because it was encumbered with the externals of luxury so prevalent in estates …..It is difficult to visualize either the extent or the significance of the changes to which George Apley was obliged himself as the result of his father’s death”

 

Leave a Reply

